Western Sussex Hospitals have joined up with Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals to form a new NHS Foundation Trust for our area: University Hospitals Sussex.

You can keep using this website for information about St Richard’s, Worthing and Southlands hospitals but for our other sites and to find out more about the new trust please visit www.uhsussex.nhs.uk.

Our shortlisted STARs – thank you for nominating!

Tuesday October 6, 2015

The shortlist for this year’s Western Sussex Hospitals’ Patient First STAR Awards has been announced from a record number of nominations by patients, public and members of staff.

Trust Chief Executive Marianne Griffiths said: “We received hundreds of nominations, each and every one an utter joy to read.

“The quality and breadth of them was greater than ever before. We had more nominations from the public and patients, a particularly high number for our amazing ward clerks and secretaries, and scores from colleagues wishing to commend other colleagues.

“This year we relaunched as the Patient First STAR Awards and the new categories, each one aligned with the values or ambitions of our Patient First Programme, certainly struck a chord.

“The quality of entrants was superb and I would like to say well done and congratulations to every single nominee – shortlisted
or not, to be recognised by your colleagues or the public in such a way is a real honour.”

The winners will be named at the Patient First STAR Awards ceremony on Thursday 8 October 2015.

Shortlisted nominations for WSHFT 2015 Patient First STAR Awards

Patient’s Friend Award

  • Janet Shawcross, Admin Assistant, Rheumatology, Worthing
  • Ashling Ward (now Middleton), St Richard’s
  • Gerry Bonetti, HCA, Erringham Ward, Worthing

Mentor of the Year

  • Emma Young, Eastbrook Ward, Worthing
  • Mr Shafique Sajid, General Surgery, Worthing
  • Matrons Liz Bennett and Sue Nicholls, Paediatrics

Care for the Future Award

  • Graffham (now Ford) & Fernhurst Team, St Richard’s
  • Paediatric Diabetes Team
  • Critical Care Outreach Team

Innovator of the Year

  • Dr Johann Willers
  • Dr Richard Venn
  • Emergency Floor, Worthing

Extra Mile

  • Miss Jo Clark, Consultant Orthodontist
  • Sharla Elder, Respiratory Nurse Specialist, Worthing
  • Amanda Bryden, GU, Crawley

Team of the Year

  • Eye Clinic, cross-site
  • Outpatient Physios – Littlehampton, Southlands & Worthing
  • Theatre Recovery, Worthing
  • Domestics – Trust-wide

Compassionate Care

  • Dr Asma Shah, Paediatrics, St Richard’s
  • Eastbrook Ward, Worthing
  • Wendy Cottee and Malcolm Robinson, Harvey’s Gang, Pathology, Worthing

Award for Excellence

  • Anna Marioni, Physio
  • Viv Colleran, Director of Clinical Effectiveness, Research and Innovation
  • Stroke Services
  • Medical Day Case Unit, Worthing

Volunteer of the Year

  • Pat Peal, Ashling Ward (now Middleton), St Richard’s
  • Brian Holland, Southlands
  • Patricia Henn, Southlands

Hospital Hero

  • Sue Coles, Clinical Site Manager
  • Richard Carter, Bank Domestic, Boxgrove Ward, St Richard’s
  • David Clayton-Evans, Customer Care Coordinator

Employee of the Year

  • Eastbrook Ward, Worthing
  • Sue Hughes Communications Manager,
  • Ruth Roe, Community Midwife
  • Tracey Whitehead, Oncology Secretary, Cancer Services, Worthing
  • Sue Luke and Rebecca Cunningham, Radiology Administrative Teams, Worthing and St Richard’s
  • Mr Makho Mlotshwa, Speciality Doctor, Durrington Ward, Worthing
  • Sue Bateley, Receptionist
  • Abigail Crick, Sleep Clinic Secretary, Worthing

Click on the image below to read more about the nominees in the award ceremony programme:


    Was this information helpful? YesNo

    How can we make this page better: