Western Sussex Hospitals have joined up with Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals to form a new NHS Foundation Trust for our area: University Hospitals Sussex.

You can keep using this website for information about St Richard’s, Worthing and Southlands hospitals but for our other sites and to find out more about the new trust please visit www.uhsussex.nhs.uk.

Tess Pepper wins Sophie Spooner Legacy Cup at Trainee Excellence Awards

Monday July 20, 2020


The Postgraduate Medical Education department held their annual Trainee Doctor Excellence Awards on 3 July to recognise the achievements of junior doctors and those who support them.

Socially distanced awards ceremonies were presented by chief executive Marianne Griffiths in Worthing and deputy trust chairman and non-executive director Mike Rymer at St Richard’s.

“This is the second year I have had the privilege of involvement in the Trainee Excellence Awards and on both occasions the standard of nominations have been outstanding,” said former medical director and consultant obstetrician Mr Rymer.

“And particularly so this time when staff have been under such extraordinary pressure over the last five months. Congratulations to the winners and to all who received nominations.”

the standard of nominations have been outstanding

The climax of the event was the presentation of the Sophie Spooner Legacy Cup, in memory of Dr Spooner who died while working for the trust in 2017. The prize is dedicated to a Trainee Doctor (non-consultant) that has contributed most positively to the trust and our culture of being kind, friendly, respectful, professional, compassionate and a team player.

This year’s winner, Dr Tess Pepper received 27 nominations. Colleagues said: “Dr Tess Pepper has continually been supportive, available to help, great at teaching, friendly and knowledgeable” She was thanked for helping colleagues “feel heard” and always going “above and beyond”.

One peer wrote: “When Covid began, she stepped up and has been a key player with the planning and execution of the response.”

Other awards included The Peer Award, The Undergraduate Award, Trainee of the Year and MDT award.


    Was this information helpful? YesNo

    How can we make this page better: